Cuba Crowned CFU Futsal Champions

HAVANA, Cuba  – Cuba defeated Curacao 5-0 in the finals of the Caribbean Football Union Futsal Championship to lift the trophy. The Cubans opened the scoring in the lopsided affair in the 5th minute of play with a strike from Fernando Chapman to give the hosts an early lead.

The game’s second would come from Jhonnet Martinez in the 19th minute. Chapman added his second of the game his team's third goal in the 28th minute. Karen Marino scored Cuba’s final two goals in the 33rd and 34th minutes, ending the match 5-0. In the earlier encounter for the CONCACAF futsal playoff spot Trinidad and Tobago would overcome Guadeloupe 5-4 to claim playoff spot.

Scoring for Guadeloupe was Benoitte Lacazette 4th minute, Mikael Burlet 23rd, 36th and 39 minute. Scoring for winners Trinidad and Tobago were Jerwyn Balthazar 5th, 32nd and 37th minute followed by goals from Kerry Joseph 13th minute and Jameel Neptune 38th minute.


Champion: Cuba

Runner-up: Curacao

3rd Place: Trinidad and Tobago

Fair Play: Guyana

Top Goal Scorer: Jerwyn Balthazar - Trinidad and Tobago (8 goals)

Top Goalkeeper: Brenieht Suarez, Cuba

MVP: Fernando Chapman, Cuba