Ivan Gutierrez is president of the Puerto Rico FA

President Elect of Federación Puertorriqueña de Fútbol (FPF) Ivan Gutierrez (left) speaks with the outgoing president, Eric Labrador

Ivan Gutierrez is president of the Puerto Rico FA

The Federación Puertorriqueña de Fútbol (FPF), on March 16, 2019, elected a new president in the person of Ivan Rivera Gutierrez. The new president received just over 50 per cent of the votes cast.

Gutierrez received 18 of the 35 votes cast in the four-way battle. Alberto Santiago got 10 and incumbent Eric Labrador seven. Jose Rodriguez failed to get a vote.

The FPF on its website hails 29-year-old Gutierrez as the youngest president-elect in the history of the federation and the youngest in FIFA.

The vice-presidents are Jose Martinez and Antonio Lopez Amieiro, while the rest of the Executive Committee is Esteban Paredes Oliveras (north region; Wilfredo Diaz Vazquez (south region); Angel Bautista Gomez (east region); Jaime Urban Cardona (west region); Maria Velazquez (central region); and Miguel Cornejo (metro region). Juan Aviles Borrero and Maria Lugo Merced are the ordinary members.

The outgoing president praised the transparency of the elections and pledged his support in the transition, which began on Monday.

Gutierrez said the work plan is built on four pillars: administration and governance, infrastructure, national selections and competitions and technical development.