CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup A Reality

Next month will witness the staging of another historic event in the Caribbean Football Union’s(CFU) mandate of empowering all through football.

The inaugural CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup will take place in six countries namely: Antigua, Dominican Republic, Turks and Caicos Islands, Haiti and Puerto Rico, before advancing to the final round to meet host Trinidad.

Damien Hughes General Secretary of the CFU in commenting on the tournament said “It is the vision of the CFU’s President Gordon Derrick to introduce this tournament, the CFU Women’s Football Committee enthusiasm to develop the idea, and Member Associations’ foresight and unrelenting pursuit of the development of Women’s Football in the Caribbean Region that have brought us to this historic moment,” Hughes stated.

The eight (8) team final round will feature the First Round Group Winners, the two (2) Best Overall Second Place Teams from the four (4) team groups (i.e. Groups 1, 2, 4 & 5), and host country Trinidad & Tobago.

This tournament will serve as the official qualification tournament in the Caribbean Zone for both the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup and the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The teams competing are: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominican Republic, Aruba, Anguilla, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Jamaica, US Virgin Islands, St Lucia, Puerto Rico, Haiti, Barbados, Cuba, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Suriname, Cayman Islands, St Kitts-Nevis and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

CFU “Caribbean Football Union” is one of three Unions in CONCACAF (The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football) and serves as the governing body of football in the Caribbean. It is composed of 31 national associations, from Bahamas in the north to Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana in the south. It spans 4 languages and composed of republics, independent countries and overseas territories of the UK, USA and Holland. For more information about CFU, log on to its official website at