Groups and Schedule for CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Honduras 2015

The five Caribbean Football Union Men’s Under 17 team realized their groups and schedules last Monday, December 9, when the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted the draw for the CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Championship Honduras 2015.

This took place at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Cortes in San Pedro Sula, CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb opened proceedings that determined the groupings and match schedule for the tournament, which kicks off February 27. The draw was conducted with the assistance of Honduran national team World Cup veterans Carlos Pavon and Amado Guevara. The Olympic and Francisco Morazan Stadiums will each play host to group phase matches, with the opening match to be played at the Morazan Stadium on February 27.

The Olympic Stadium will host Group B and the final phase including the fifth and third-place matches, as well as the Grand Final, scheduled for March 15. Monday’s draw sorted the twelve qualified countries into two groups of six. Group A is set to feature host Honduras, along with Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, United States of America, Cuba, in addition to a third qualifying nation from Central America, to be determined in a January playoff between El Salvador and Guatemala.

Group B contains Canada, Haiti, Panama, Mexico, St Lucia and Costa Rica in order of positions drawn. The tournament will crown the Confederation champion at this age level, and qualify four teams to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup Chile 2015. The top team from each group after round-robin play advance to the World Cup and the other two will be determined by the results of the final day elimination matches.

The new CONCACAF Under-17 Men’s tournament format has increased the number of set games to five for each competing nation, up from two in previous editions of the Championship. The new format has been created to favor development and competition. Mexico is the defending CONCACAF under-17 champion, having claimed the title in the previous edition of the championship, in Panama in 2013.

2014 CONCACAF Men’s U-17 Championship World Cup Qualifying San Pedro Sula, Honduras

2014 CONCACAF Men’s U-17 Championship
World Cup Qualifying
San Pedro Sula, Honduras

Trinidad &Tobago
United States of America

St Lucia
Costa Rica

2014 CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Championship Schedule

Day 1 – Friday, February 27 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 UNCAF 3 vs Trinidad &Tobago
17:00 USA vs Cuba
19:30 Honduras vs Jamaica

Day 2 – Saturday, February 28 (Olympic Stadium)
14:30 Panama vs Mexico
17:00 St. Lucia vs Costa Rica
19:30 Canada vs Haiti

Day 3 – Sunday, March 01
Rest Day

Day 4 – Monday, March 02 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 Jamaica vs. UNCAF 3
17:00 Trinidad &Tobago vs. USA
19:30 Honduras vs. Cuba

Day 5 – Tuesday, March 3 (Olympic Stadium)
14:30 Haiti vs. Panama
17:00 Mexico vs. St. Lucia
19:30 Canada vs. Costa Rica

Day 6 – Wednesday, March 4  
Rest Day

Day 7 – Thursday, March 5 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 Cuba vs. Jamaica
17:00 UNCAF 3 vs. USA
19:30 Honduras vs. Trinidad & Tobago

Day 8 – Friday, March 6 (Olympic Stadium)
14:30 Costa Rica vs. Haiti
17:00 Panama vs. St. Lucia
19:30 Canada vs. México

Day 9 – Saturday, March 7
Rest Day

Day 10 – Sunday, March 8 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 Trinidad & Tobago vs. Jamaica
17:00 Cuba vs UNICAF 3
19:30 Honduras vs. USA

Day 11 – Monday, March 9 (Olympic Stadium)
14:30 Mexico vs. Haiti
17:00 Costa Rica vs. Panama
19:30 Canada vs. St. Lucia

Day 12 – Tuesday, March 10
Rest Day

Day 13 – Wednesday, March 11 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 Trinidad & Tobago vs. Cuba
17:00 USA vs. Jamaica
19:30 Honduras vs. UNCAF 3

Day 14 – Thursday, March 12 (Olympic Stadium)
14:30 Mexico vs. Costa Rica
17:00 St. Lucia vs. Haiti
19:30 Canada vs. Panama

Day 15 – Friday, March 13 and Day 16 – Saturday, March 14
Rest Days
Day 17 – Sunday, March 15 (Olympic Stadium)
14:00 2nd vs. 3rd ,     17:00 1st vs. 4th , 20:00 1A vs. 1B