Preparations in high gear for CFU Women’s U-17 Tournament

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Women’s Under-17 Tournament is scheduled to kick-off on August 7, and continue to August 25 in three countries: Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands (USVI) and Dominican Republic, with eleven countries competing in three Groups.

The two top placed teams from each Group will advance to the CFU Finals, from which three teams will be qualified for the CONCACAF Women’s Under- 17 Finals, slated for September 11-18 at a venue to be announced.

Puerto Rico will host Group One which consists of Bermuda, Bahamas and hosts Puerto Rico, and action will take place at the Juan Ramon Loubriel Stadium in Puerto Rico.

The first game of Group One will be played between Bermuda and Bahamas at 7:00 pm on August 7. Thereafter, on August 9, Puerto Rico will meet Bahamas at 7:00 pm and, on August 11, Puerto Rico will challenge Bermuda at 6:00pm.

Group Two will be staged at the Paul E. Joseph Stadium in St. Croix, British Virgin Islands, where St. Kitts/Nevis, U.S. Virgin Islands, Antigua and Barbuda and Trinidad & Tobago will battle for top honours.

On August 14, St Kitts/Nevis will encounter Trinidad & Tobago in the Group’s opening game at 4:00 pm, with host US Virgin Islands facing Antigua & Barbuda at 6:00pm. Trinidad & Tobago will meet Antigua & Barbuda at 4:00 pm on August 16 and, at 6:00pm on the same day the US Virgin Islands will play St Kitts/Nevis.

Action in Group Three will begin on August 21, when Haiti is scheduled to meet Grenada at 2:00 pm, and host Dominican Republic will face Guyana at 4:00pm, at the grounds of the Estadio Panamericano.

On August 23, Grenada will play Guyana at 2:00 pm and, at 4:00 pm, Dominican Republic will tackle Haiti. The finals sets of games will take place on August 25, when Guyana will challenge Haiti at 2:00 pm, and Dominican Republic will test Grenada at 4:00 pm.