Haiti demolish USVI to advance to CFU Women’s Under-17 semis

Kori Doran(USVI) and  Louis Batheba Haiti joined Puerto Rico as the second semi-finalist team from Group A, at the 2013 Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Women's Under-17 Tournament, with a lopsided 22-0 victory over the United States Virgin Islands (USVI) at the Sylvio Cator Stadium in Haiti.

In front of 2000 appreciative and boisterous supporters, the host team wasted no time in humbling the USVI who were severely outmatched.

The outcome was clear from the 10th minute with Haiti leading 3-0, and with the USVI defence
virtually non-existent; the issue for spectators became the number of goals which would be scored in the 90 minutes.

Haiti took a 14-0 lead into the second half, and put eight more past the USVI in the second half.

Bactheba Louis led the onslaught with 11 goals, scoring in the 6th, 14th, 16th, 32nd, 44th  55th 61st, 78th, 83rd, 91st and 92nd minutes, while Isnada Lebrun added six with goals in the 9th, 19th, 22nd, 24th, 29th  and 86th minutes.

The other goals came from Rudena Pailere in the 7th, 28th and 79th minutes; Sherly Jeudy in the 30th and Verlene Estime in the 43rd.

The performance was so dominant that Haiti substituted their goalkeeper Jonie Gabriel, who was basically a spectator on the pitch, and gave reserve goalie Naphtalie Clermeus an opportunity in the 60th minute, but she too had a stress-free night.

Coach of the Haitian team, James Morisset, said afterward that large wins are not his objective but rather, winning the Tournament and qualifying for the CONCACAF Under-17 Women's Competition, scheduled for October in Jamaica.

“I'm happy to see the girls enjoying themselves and playing hard, but they know what our goal is and it's not to beat teams by 20 goals but to win, even if it is by one goal and qualify for the CONCACAF Under-17 Tournament,” said Morisset.

The Haitians will play their last Group game against joint Group A leaders Puerto Rico on Tuesday at 6:30 p.m., while the USVI face Antigua & Barbuda at 4 p.m.

Lebrun Isnada(Hai)Misah Edwards-Deadra Erysthee(USVI)

Maya Wright  C(USVI) and jeudy Sherly(Hai)

Pallere Rudena(Hai)and Beladean Delgado(USVI)