Bayamon FC lift CCCS title in dramatic style

Published on 25 April 2022

Bayamon FC, Jordi Ranera, at the front as teammates follow, scored a pair and led his team to becoming champions of the 2022 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield at the Estadio Centroamericano de Mayaguez in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico. (Photo: Concacaf Media)

MAYAGUEZ, Puerto Rico (April 24, 2022) – Jordi Ranera’s brace secured a dramatic 2-1 victory for Bayamon FC of Puerto Rico over Inter Moengo Tapoe of Suriname to become the 2022 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield champions in the final on Sunday at the Estadio Centroamericano de Mayaguez in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico.

Bayamon FC’s win marked their first-ever Caribbean crown, with a pair of goals coming from Ranera in the 24’ and deep into extra -time in the 120’.

The victory also means that Bayamon advances to the 2022 Scotiabank Concacaf League Play-off, where they will face the fourth-place team from the 2022 Concacaf Caribbean Club Championship for a place in the 2022 SCL.

The hosts were first to strike, as they took advantage of an error deep in the Inter Moengo
Tapoe half, allowing Ranera to fire his side into the lead, 1-0, in the 24’ with a header.

Things were wide open as play continued, with Bayamon seeking a second goal. Inter
Moengo Tapoe tried to equalize, and they saw the effort rewarded in the 89’ when Miquel Darson steered home a left-footed shot to make it 1-1.

With neither side able to secure victory, the match went into extra time.

Inter Moengo Tapoe had the lion’s share of the chances, but it was Bayamon FC that would collect the spoils when Ranera booted home the winner in the final seconds off a throw-in. The ball was flicked-on from a  header to find Ranera, who guided a shot into  the back of Inter Moengo Tapoe net to deliver the  2-1 victory on the last play of the match in the 120’ in extra time.

Top News