Curacao named as Host of the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield

Published on 11 February 2020
2019 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield champions SV Robinhood


The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) announced that Curacao will host the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Shield. The competition for amateur Caribbean clubs is scheduled to take place April 3 – 12, 2020 at the Ergilio Hato and Dr. Antoine Maduro stadiums, Willemstad, Curacao.

In 2018 the Caribbean Club Shield was launched as part of an expanded Concacaf Club Competitions program, featuring clubs from Caribbean countries whom are working with Concacaf towards a long-term vision of professionalizing the club game across the region.

The 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield will take on a round-robin format and divide 15 teams into three groups of four and one group of three in the group stage. After the group stage, the first place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will advance to the final, while the losing semifinalists will battle for third place.

The winner of the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Shield will have the opportunity to face the fourth-place finisher of the 2020 Flow Concacaf Caribbean Club Championship in a playoff match, to determine the fourth Caribbean representative in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf League, provided it fulfills the Concacaf Regional Club Licensing criteria.

Listed below are the 15 participating clubs for the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield:

  • Liberta Blackhawks SC (Antigua)
  • SV Racing Club Aruba (Aruba)
  • Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme (Barbados)
  • SV Real Rincon (Bonaire)
  • One Love United FC (British Virgin Islands)
  • Scholars International SC (Cayman Islands)
  • FC Santiago de Cuba (Cuba)
  • SV Vesta (Curacao)
  • South East FC (Dominica)
  • Amical Club D’Etang Noir (Guadeloupe)
  • Club Franciscain (Martinique)
  • Metropolitan Football Academy (Puerto Rico)
  • Platinum FC (St. Lucia)
  • Besco Pastures FC (St. Vincent & the Grenadines)
  • SV Inter Moengo Tapoe (Suriname)

Top News