Eleven Caribbean teams to contest the Concacaf Men’s U-17 Championship

Published on 12 October 2022

Schedule of the 2023 Concacaf Men’s U-17 Championship. (Concacaf website)

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (October 12, 2022)—The schedule for the 2023 Concacaf Men’s U-17 Championship (CU17C) was announced on Friday, October 7, 2022. The CU17C serves as a qualification tournament for the FIFA U-17 World Cup Peru 2023 and will see 20 teams compete, in Guatemala, fromFebruary 11-26, 2023.

Amongst the 20 teams are 11 from the Caribbean all with a history of competing at this stage of the tournament. Eight teams—Barbados, Cuba, Curacao, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Suriname and  Trinidad and Tobago will vie for a place in the round of 16 after their group phase. Meanwhile Bermuda, Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico already qualified for the round of 16 after topping their respective groups in the Concacaf U-17 Qualifiers (CU17Q) on September 8, 2022.

The groups were drawn on September 29, 2022.

Group E: Mexico, Panama, Guatemala, Curacao

Group F: USA, Canada, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados

Group G: Costa Rica, Jamaica, Cuba, Guadeloupe

Group H: Honduras, Haiti, El Salvador, Suriname

The group phase runs from February 11-16, 2023 with Groups E and G participating at the Estadio Nacional Doroteo Guamuch Flores in Guatemala City, while Groups F and H will play at the Estadio Pensativo in Antigua.

On completion of the Group Stage, the top three teams in each group will advance to the Round of 16, joining the four 2022 CU17Q group winners Bermuda, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, and Puerto Rico.

These matches will take place February 18 and 19, at both venues, with Bermuda taking on the winner of Group H, Dominican Republic will match up against the winner of Group F and Puerto Rico will battle against the winner of Group G.

The quarterfinals follow on February 21 and 22, with the Semifinals on February 24, and the Final on February 26, all in Guatemala City.

All knockout stage matches will be played as a single match direct eliminator with the four semifinalists qualifying for the FIFA U-17 World Cup Peru 2023.

To view the competition’s match schedule, click here (kickoff times to be announced at a later date)

In the previous edition of the Concacaf U-17 Championship, played in 2019 in Bradenton, Florida, Mexico won its eighth title at this age level, with a 2-1 extra time victory over the United States in the final.

Top News