Jamaica drawn into Group F for 2023 Women’s World Cup

Published on 24 October 2022

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (October 24, 2022)—The Jamaica Reggae Girlz will kick off their FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023 campaign against France on July 23, 2023, at Sydney Football Stadium in Sydney, Australia.

Jamaica—contesting their second consecutive World Cup and still the only Caribbean team to advance this far—are drawn in Group F. The group is France, Jamaica, Brazil, and the winner of the Group C playoff winner (Chinese Taipei, Paraguay, Papa New Guinea, Panama).

The Reggae Girlz, after their opener, face the playoff winner on July 29 in Perth, Australia and then Brazil on August 2 in Melbourne, Australia.

The groups are:

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland,

Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Denmark, China, Group B playoff winner (Chile, Senegal, Haiti)

Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Group A playoff winner (Cameroon, Thailand, Portugal)

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C playoff winner (Chinese Taipei, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea, Panama)

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

The draw took place at the Aotea Centre in Auckland, New Zealand, on Saturday.

Top News